SOP Queen Episode 1 Recap

What a cute start. I am so glad to see Chen Qiao En on screen again. I must say, she is as I remember her. Ahahahaha, her role here reminds me of her in FTLY. This is actually my second (or third, if you consider Sunny Happiness to be one) Chinese dramas that I have seen. So far it is exceeding my expectations and resembles quite a fair bit to Taiwanese dramas. Ahahahaha, or maybe it’s because it features a heavy cast of Taiwanese actresses and actors.

It opens with our female lead Lin Xiao Jie (Chen Qiao En) dreaming that she is the queen being carried by hot shirtless guys when the guys suddenly transform into old, fully suited men. She doesn’t want to get up nor does she want to go to work. She has to get dragged out of bed by her housemate/friend.

Ways to survive in a workplace – to abide by the OL’s three wants:

  1. To take notice of the boss’ mood
  2. Learn how to slip base – this means to stamp card at the very last minute
  3. To be be efficient in using time – using the same time to complete lots of task at hand

She holds hope that she have a chance to venture out and have a promotion. The company is offering one of the workers a chance to go to London with all fees covered. Everybody steps out of this opportunity besides Xiao Jie and her friend. So who goes? Xiao Jie puts her hand up for it.

Xiao Jie is in London helping with the photo shoot. The photo shoot is all finished and the model goes out to enjoy herself while Xiao Jie is sent to buy coffee.

As she is walking out with the coffee, a motorcyclist comes past and snatches her handbag. She screams out help and guess who comes to her rescue? Tang Jun (Han Zhang) who is talking with a potential client immediately comes to her aid. She borrows a motorcycle and chases after the thief with Xiao Jie trailing behind in a taxi. He finally manages to get the bag back when they are by the riverside. Too bad when he was taking the bag back from the thief all of her important documents fell out. Being the gentleman that Tang Jun is, he helps her retrieve the documents. Since he helped her out, she is going to repay him.

Meanwhile, the posh guy driving the cool car is out with his supermodel girlfriend eating who is afraid to eat because of calories.

Our OTP are out in a shop looking at Peter Rabbits. She is surprised to find out that he also likes Peter Rabbit. She asks him why and he tells her that he doesn’t have a girlfriend so it is nice to have it to hug. She tells him that she is going to get him something he likes. He isn’t greedy though and only wants a keyring.

The posh guy has decided to take him girlfriend for ice-cream just as Tang Jun also decides to take Xiao Jie for ice-cream. They are a step a part from each and don’t meet. (LOL, I thought they would. Ahahahahas) Tang Jun tells her that this is England’s best ice-cream and this way she will have a beautiful memory.

Since they are here, he asks her where she wants to go. He will take him there. She tells him Big Ben, London Bridge and some architectural buildings because she doesn’t want to be a lowly employee any more. She asks him why he is in England and he tells him he is charge of protecting England. (LOL, it was something along this line…) Nawwws, work calls and she has to bid him farewell.

At the airport when the posh guy knocks over her (well, actually the model’s) luggage. She asks him to pick it up but he just walks off.

She has just come back from England and immediately gets to work because pay is double for over time.

She wants to show her boss her proposal but he just throws it away without looking and she is instead sent on odd jobs. She goes to the store and helps out a client to buy  a new suit.

Tang Jun is at a pub when his friend drops by to visit. It’s Ming Dao! Tang Jun has to go to France for some time and his friend asks him what he is going to do about the house. He tells him he has post it up on the internet looking a tenant.

   

It’s New Year’s Eve and Xiao Jie has to spend it working. Ohhh, looks like the client that Xiao Jie helped out is the posh guy, Gao Zi Qi (Godfrey Gao)’s daddy. Zi Qi arrives at the party on a motorcycle and boy is his older brother, Gao Zi Hao (Gino) very unhappy that his younger brother gets all the attention.

   

Spending New Year’s with a can of beer and her phone can only be  a sign of what is to come. She looks on her phone and sees the house that Tang Jun has put up. She sends him a message and yeah, this only shows how small this world is.

Meanwhile, back in Taipei where she is the only worker at the market stacking beer, she decides to make herself feel better about spending this New Year’s alone by singing. Zi Qi hears her singing and comes in shocking her pull him and falling over her beautifully stacked cans of beer.

THIS MUST BE FATE!

_______

My Opinion:

I am so thankful that this is not dubbed. I would not be able to stand it if Chen Qiao En’s voice was dubbed. I am already so used to her voice. Ommmggg, Han Zhang’s voice. I have never heard of who this guy was before this and now I am even more glad that they did not dub this. His voice is so handsome! Ahahhhaa, I am serious. No wait, it is sexy. His chinese accent is so sexy. I would be satisfied just hearing him speak the entire ep. Ahahahahas!

I missed Chen Qiao En! I haven’t seen her in such a long time. Her acting is good, it is always good. This role reminds me of FTLY too much. Even the office setting. I don’t think I will be able to get my mind around this. It is too FTLY. Arghhh! Her character really reminds me of her as Xin Yi though here she has much more confidence. Once again, she is made to do this and that for people. Too Xin Yi, seriously. -.-

Wow, her interaction with Han Zhang is really there. That is chemistry there. Ahahahahs! And they have only had interactions for what , three minutes?

This drama really has to learn how to tell people the names of the characters. I am barely catching any of them aside from Tang Jun and Xiao Jie. But other than that you really have to listen for the other names. 😦

Ohh, can I say how cool Tang Jun was when he was riding that motorcycle? Too cool!

Tagged: , ,

15 thoughts on “SOP Queen Episode 1 Recap

  1. utaj July 17, 2012 at 8:19 am Reply

    Yey…finally recap on SOP Queen. Thank you soo much. I am also a huge fan of Chen Qiao En efer since the Frog Prince and so excited to see her on screen again.
    Came with no surprise Qiao En manage to build nice chemestry with her lead partner, regardless the age difference hahaha….she still looks adorable n cute to me.
    Soo loving the first episode..sooo beautiful. I am drolling over Tang Jun hahaha..what a lucky girl u are Qiao En.

    • misscupcakees July 17, 2012 at 10:03 am Reply

      I first saw her on screen in Fated To Love You and ever since then I became her fan.

      LOL, of course! Ahahaha. Oh, with Chen Qiao En you would not even notice the age difference. That’s is how good she is.

      Ahahahhaas, yeps. Tang Jun is the guy for her! He is so sweet and thoughtful and not to mention has a really sexy voice.

      • ROYLOVE July 20, 2012 at 2:23 am

        how old is zhang han? 🙂

      • misscupcakees July 20, 2012 at 4:10 pm

        28 years old, not that old really.

  2. heisui July 18, 2012 at 10:55 am Reply

    I’m so behind, I haven’t even had time to start SOP Queen yet!!!

    • misscupcakees July 18, 2012 at 3:51 pm Reply

      Ahahahahas, watch it! I promise you won’t regret it. (:

  3. coco July 18, 2012 at 7:16 pm Reply

    Hi! I agree. Zhang Han’s voice is soooo sexy. I can listen to it again and again and again.
    Somehow he reminds me of Park Shi Hoo. Not that handsome on pictures but oozing with charisma on screen.

    • misscupcakees July 18, 2012 at 8:21 pm Reply

      Oh yay! So it’s not just me! Ahahahahahas, I love love love his voice! ❤

      • coco July 18, 2012 at 10:28 pm

        Ah. And I have to commend you for your fast recaps. It’s like 3 episodes a day and you almost catch up with the latest one. Kudos for the great job. But well, the SOP queen is really that good to spend time with. These few days I am practically living in its world. LOL

      • misscupcakees July 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm

        Thankss beautiful! ❤ Yeahh, three eps a day is draining. 😦 I am almost done with the last recap. I am half way there. It should be up in an hour or so. 🙂

        Ahahahaha, yeps, but it still is draining. Ahahahahs, but I just get to admire Han Zhang some more. (Y)

      • coco July 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm

        Ahh..and too bad Chinese tv stations to dubbed their drama. I mean it’s really a waste of that voice!

  4. coco July 18, 2012 at 10:47 pm Reply

    This is to cheer you up! 😀
    加油!

    • misscupcakees July 18, 2012 at 10:55 pm Reply

      Thanks beautiful! But I like his speaking voice better. Ahahahhas, it’s more sexy that way!

      • coco July 18, 2012 at 11:01 pm

        Yes. Don’t you think the way he speak is like whispering into your ears? I think that’s why it sound so sexy. ^^

      • misscupcakees July 18, 2012 at 11:03 pm

        LOL, yeps. It’s because of his sexy accent. Gahhh, I wish he would speak to me like that. Or whisper to me!

Make my day? Post a comment :)