Hot Favourite G.E.M Tang Comes Runner-up on I Am A Singer

It comes to no one’s surprise that hot favourite G.E.M Tang would come out on top after having managed to remain as a front runner for the entirety of the professional singing competition I Am A Singer. In fact, she managed to bag home the most first and second place-getters during competition’s run, scoring a total of. She might not come out as the winner but she came marginally close scoring 24.95% of the votes while the winner, Han Lei scored 28.31%. But she came out winner in her own rights. She won a lot of fans in the process and more than that, she gained greater recognition for her singing abilities. She bet out a number of seasoned singers and pulled out some spectacular live-performances. Her singing was pitch-perfect and she really knows how to stage mesmerising performances. She didn’t come this far by luck. She puts her everything into each performance and you can really feel that as you watch them. G.E.M is well-deserving of her achievements and I just can’t wait to hear what she has in store next!

The first segment of the finale featured the contestants on a duet with invited singers. Red-headed G.E.M was partnered with Hong Kong singer Khail Fong for the song 春天里 (original by Wang Fei) but I didn’t overly enough that performance. G.E.M has a very strong voice but it felt like she had to subdue it to match Khail’s soft vocals. Han Lei actually had two partners instead of one. He was paired up with actor-singer Zhang Jia Yi and Anson Hu for the folk song Lift Your Veil 掀起你的盖头来 (original by Wang Luo Bi) which I surprisingly enjoyed. I’m not usually a fan of songs of these genres but that was a really enjoyable performance. My favourite duet of the night and in my eyes, the best duet of the night came from Zhang Jie and invited guest JJ LinObviously JJ Lin was the star attraction here but getting past that you really get to hear how well these singer’s voice complemented each other. Not only that, they gave off a really well balanced performance and they actually embraced the spirit of a duet by providing a really warm performance. I loved it a lot and this is the current song that is on replay as I type this.

The second segment came the solo performances and there wasn’t really any competition there. It was pretty much just a round for the contestants to give a final reeling for votes, not that it would have made any difference. Interestingly, only the two winners sang a medley. G.E.M sang in both English in a medley composed of We Will Rock You (original by Queen), Nothing to my Name 一无所有 (original by Cui Jian) and We Are The Champions (original by Queen) which was once again an amazing performance from her. She made great use of it to really elevated her powerful voice and demonstrate her wide and diversity singing abilities. Han Lei’s medly was filled with native instruments. He even incorporated the didgeridoo, a traditional native Aboriginal Australian instrument, which I thought was pretty amazing. Shila Amzah sang EXO‘s MAMA which I thought was a poor choice for her. She also incorporated dance to it which ultimately dampened her performance. It affected her breathing and as a result, not only did her dancing fall short but also her singing. But I guess that didn’t really matter since Han Lei and G.E.M had already took hold of their positions early on in the competition.

The overall rankings came as:

*only results for the winner and runner-up were revealed, so the rankings for the finalists are in no particular order

  • Han Lei – 28.31%
  • G.E.M Tang – 24.95%
  • Gary Chaw
  • Zhang Jie
  • Shila Amzah
  • Bibi Zhou – eliminated
  • Phil Chang – eliminated

 

Check out the duets of the night below (:

Shila Amzah 茜拉 & Huang Qi Shan 黄绮珊 – When You Believe

G.E.M Tang 邓紫棋 & Khail Fong 方大同 – 春天

Han Lei 韩磊 & Zhang Jiayi 张嘉译 & Anson Hu 胡彦斌 – Lift Your Veil 掀起你的盖头来

Zhang Jie 张杰 & JJ Lin 林俊杰 – 最美丽的太阳

Gary Chaw 曹格 & Tan Wei Wei 谭维维 – What’s Up

Bibi Zhou 周笔畅 & Shin 信 – 一样的月光

Phil Chang 张宇 & Julian Chen 陈志朋 – 伤心的人别听慢歌

 

Check out the solo performances below (:

Gary Chaw 曹格 – Mr. Lonely 寂寞先生

Zhang Jie 张杰 – 回到拉萨

Han Lei 韩磊 – 鸿雁 + 走四方 + 向天再借五百年

Shila Amzah 茜拉 – MAMA

G.E.M Tang 邓紫棋 – We Will Rock You + Nothing to my Name 一无所有 + We Are The Champions

 

I’ve only been casually watching this and mainly catching up on G.E.M’s performances but and I enjoyed watching her sing. I’ve linked all her performances on the show before which you should check out. (: I think my favourite performances would have to be from ep 6 and ep 12.

Ep 1, 泡沫

Ep 2, 存在

Ep 3, 你把我灌醉

Ep 4, 我要我们在一起

Ep 5, If I Were A Boy

Ep 6, 喜欢你

Ep 7, 如果没有你

Ep 8, Lady Marmalade

Ep 9, 龙卷风

Ep 10, Falling

Ep 11, – (didn’t have to perform)

Ep 12, 你不是真正的快乐

Ep 13, 春天里 (with Khail Fong)

Ep 13, We Will Rock You + Nothing to my Name 一无所有 + We Are The Champions

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hot Favourite G.E.M Tang Comes Runner-up on I Am A Singer

  1. carolies541 April 10, 2014 at 8:47 pm Reply

    I’ve stopped following this show but I did casually watch a few cut clips of GEM singing. Shila have a nice voice but I only watched 2 of her performances. GEM is not that perfect in her singing but she’s very talented, it’s impressive how she beat so many seniors and stay in the game until the finale. My impression towards Han Lei changes as I think he’s great when he’s singing jazzy tunes, his voice matches that kind of music perfectly and for someone his age, he knows how to be flexible about his music.

    • misscupcakees April 11, 2014 at 11:12 am Reply

      G.E.M is one talented singer! It’s a remarkable win for her considering all the powerhouse that she went up against. I really like her voice and I love that she puts on great live performances.

      I haven’t seen much of Han Lei’s performances but I am sure that he is an incredible singer. I’m not a fan of jazz and folk music but I think he did an incredible job singing them.

Make my day? Post a comment :)