Music Downloads: William Wei’s The Fear

William Wei (AKA Weibird) is back in town with a new album! Every since my discovery of William, I have been love with his music ever since. He is a very talented musician with great song-writing skills and an equally wonderful voice. I just love it and he really encapsulates emotions with his voice. Whether it be happiness, sadness, regret etc., he tells a story with his voice. It’s something very powerful and something that speaks so much. Last month on the 25th of March, he dropped his third album titled The Fear. It’s much darker and heavier compared to his previous album Someone Is Waiting and is definitely a new genre that he is venturing out to. It’s a risk for him but it has definitely paid off. He showcases his voice in a new way that is exciting yet speaks of the William that he is. I love that despite how different this album is, there is still him in it. The album is stamped by his essence all over and that, I like.

The album cover is a very simple, close-up shot of William filled with a dark tone. It is very minimal but I love how the shadow plays around with capturing the atmosphere of his album. The alternate cover is a black-and-white abstract image of a wolf staring into the night sky. You can see the darkness that he is trying to portray with both of his album cover but it really shines through with his songs and is accentuated with his MVs. His songs are all very powerful and I just absolutely love that you can really hear his emotions through. William continues to show his song-writing talents by writing most of the songs for this album. I also really like the composition and how each song all packs together really nicely. This is a beautiful album and allows William to continue to grow with his music talent.

My favourite song on the album is Jiang Lang (江郎) It was the song in the album that really called out to me. I love its piano background and his voice is very suitable in portraying the deep emotions of this ballad. Another one of my favourite songs on the album is By Your Side (在你身边) which more or less is because of it being the opening theme song for The Pursuit of Happiness. It is also serving as the theme song for the this year’s Cotton Council International in Taiwan. Whether it be happiness, darkness or sadness that he is trying to get across, William does so really well in bringing these across. He is one of those singers who I can listen to day in and day out without every getting bored of the same song.

Click here to download. (: Enjoy!

The Fear (有所畏) Tracklist:

  1. Wolf (狼)
  2. Shipwreck (沈船)
  3. Treasure Island (金銀島) (feat. MATZKA)
  4. On Your Side (在你身邊)
  5. Jiang Lang (江郎)
  6. Dorian Gray (格雷的畫像)
  7. Mask (面具)
  8. Lost (迷路) (feat. Soft Lipa (蛋堡))
  9. Survival (生存之道)
  10. Believe In Who (相信誰)
  11. Dawn (曙光)

Check out some of his MVs for this album!

Wolf (狼):

Mask (面具):

By Your Side (在你身邊):

 

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Music Downloads: William Wei’s The Fear

  1. NeeNee April 26, 2014 at 2:19 pm Reply

    I won’t lie, Wolf made it into my monthly favorites in both February & March! I am not sure if I had heard of him before now but the tracks released on YouTube had me scrambling for the album which is all kinds of wonderful. 🙂 He really is very talented.

    • misscupcakees April 26, 2014 at 2:48 pm Reply

      Wolf is definitely something very different from his usual type of style. I like it but I don’t overly enjoy it. Maybe I’m not too much of a dark side kinda girl? 😛 I can’t stop playing Jiang Lang right now!! It’s so good and addicting! But yes, he is very talented and I lub him very much.

      • NeeNee April 26, 2014 at 2:51 pm

        There was just something about that song that was an interesting blend of more traditional music with modern pop & it really suits the song. Mask…love that one too.

      • misscupcakees April 26, 2014 at 2:54 pm

        Hmmm? Jiang Lang?

        Yuuuppp, I love the MV of Mask too!

  2. isabellealyssa April 27, 2014 at 7:37 pm Reply

    Just downloaded and listened to his album per your recommendation and I’m really liking this album. ❤

    • misscupcakees April 27, 2014 at 8:24 pm Reply

      Hehehe, yupp, it is on replay as we speak! What’s your favourite song from the album?

    • misscupcakees April 27, 2014 at 8:50 pm Reply

      Okay, I know this is bizarre but do you think you have heard the rhythm/beat/melody of Survival somewhere? I’m pretty sure I have heard something like that from somewhere before! I’ve been racking my head these past few days trying to figure it out!

Make my day? Post a comment :)

