My Opinion on Fall in Love with Me Episodes 14-20 (Final)

Fall in Love with Me See, I thought Fall in Love with Me had already went down to worse but these seven eps proved so otherwise. At least it ended with a happy ending, but the ride was just crazy. Actually “crazy” cannot even describe the amount of makjang absurdity that this drama got itself embroiled with. It was non-stop crazy, with one following on the other. FILWM started out purely as a fan drama to pair up Aaron Yan and Puff Guo after their successful pairing in Just You but Puff had other agendas and so Tia Li ended up taking the role as Aaron’s leading lady. It was just as well because I don’t think that even Puff and Aaron’s cutesy chemistry would have been able to ride through this trainwreck. FILWM was lacking in so many ways but somehow it managed to keep going for 20 eps, 20 long and draggy eps. FILWM was not set out to work and it clearly didn’t and as much as I love Aaron, he just wasn’t enough to sustain this drama.

I have serious regrets for having jumped on board to watching FILWM because not only was the plot crazy, insane and illogical but there were also some pretty crap and emotionless acting. Aaron’s been the only good thing that I can take out of this and that’s because he is handsome and can actually act while the rest of the cast either a) couldn’t act or b) could act but played a really bland character.

Fall in Love with Me Ahhh, Aaron! Without him this drama would just have been one that I would have never batted an eye to. However, because his name was ingrained to it, I dared to peek a look and I even went in to watch it. Aaron was the best thing out of the drama. But not even he could divert this derailing drama back onto its course (not that it had one in the first place). His acting has improved heaps since the last time I saw him in Alice in Wonder City and that drama also goes on my list of bad dramas. Aaron holds better emotions onscreen now and he did a wonderful job in portraying Xiao Lu and Tian Xing. Given that the two characters did have a distinct personality, it was easier for Aaron to characterise Xiao Lu and Tian Xing. Nonetheless, he did a pretty good job at it and I enjoyed watching Xiao Lu and Tian Xing’s qualities manifest.

Fall in Love with Me Leading lady Tia was so bland. She is one lady who can’t act no matter how you push her to! Right from the start through to the end, she has no allowed her character to come to life. Le Si felt very blank and lacking personality. Not only that but I swear, Tia literally had the same expression for the twenty eps. Well, I guess one thing she nailed is consistency in emotions, except I’m not sure that is what she should have strived for.

Above all else, the major letdown was the writing. It was weak and fell apart numerous times. With the way the drama progressed, it felt like I was watching two completely different dramas. It went from rom-com all the way to melo. I have no idea what was going on with the drama and I am sure the screenwriters were racking their brains trying to make sense what they had written, lol. The first seven or so eps were actually quite decent but everything fell apart as soon as Xiao Lu’s real identity was revealed.

Fall in Love with Me Tian Xing and Le Si’s relationship was supposed to be the concrete slab to the drama except it was never laid down perfectly so instead of providing a sturdy foundation to the drama, it created numerous cracks. When watching a couple’s relationship develop, what I really want to see is them fall in love with each other, but I never once got that here with them. Instead, what I saw was two people being forced together for the sake of the drama’s progression. I kept questioning what was it that made them fall in love with each other, except I was not able to sought out an answer. Tian Xing initially got close to Le Si because he wanted to help her revive her brother’s advertising company as he felt like he owed it to her brother for his life-saving act. And then somehow he fell for her just like that. It was a similar case on Le Si’s side. All that we got to see was that she fell for Xiao Lu because he was tentative and always by her side. But then as soon as his identity got revealed, she fell for Tian Xing without reason? There was just a lack of substance to their relationship and consequently, it kept their relationship from developing any further. I just don’t feel their relationship.

Fall in Love with Me
Huan Huan is a girl who is crazy in love with her oppa and that love instigated the whole melo-makjang plot. Again, her relationship development with Tian Xing was very shallow like Tian Xing and Le Si’s relationship. It was a spoken romance that was not backed-up with any concrete slabbing. She is crazy in love with him and crazy means crazy. She wants her oppa and she is determined to get her oppa at whatever the cost, even at the expense of her health and family. She knows that he has his heart elsewhere and she also knows that cannot change this fact. Despite her several rejections, she gets what she wants and so she made him hers. She placed her life on the line just to earn his care and she even threatened to harm herself just so she could get him to remain by her side. Happiness to her is having him by her side but clearly she does not know what happiness means, and she learnt so the hard way having made so many choices which caused heartache and mental breakdowns for all those around her. And for us viewers as well.

Fall in Love with Me I have come to the conclusion that the entire Li family is downright crazy. It runs in the genes. We have Huan Huan who is crazily in love that she would do anything. You would think that her mother would be able to talk some sense into her lovesick daughter, but nope, instead she encourages this behaviour. She even goes as far as telling her daughter that she must keep telling the lie if she wants to be happy. Lance is not any better. All that is on his mind is his desire to be on top and to be better than Tian Xing. He, who loves Huan Huan dearly, took a sharp turn and turned against her and even threatening her. The Li family needs to reline their lives together, because the definition of happiness in no where to be found in their lives.

The reappearance of Xiao Lu at the very end made no sense to me. I can see that the drama wanted to draw connections on how Le Se fell in love with the two sides of Tian Xing but it was contradicting. We all know that Xiao Lu is just a guise but having him reappear just showed that it is really Xiao Lu who Le Si loves. I just don’t get it.

In writing this review, I made a quick re-watch through the 20 eps and I realised that the story development has been really choppy. There was quite a number of aspects that the drama had tried to flesh out but then left it only half-done. There was that whole drama over the watch which Le Si’s brother left behind to her, except they never got to revealing the meaning behind it. Then there was the whole love triangle with Leo (thought it’s worth a mention that the drama went through a second male lead switcheroo with Leo and Lance) which just never came to life. There was also that whole fiasco with Lance and everyone, except it did not get to exploring what is it that Lance really wanted. Oh yeah, and what was Tian Xing’s plan for agreeing to marry Huan Huan? There was just an abundance of unfinished business which the drama did not get to finish.

I held my expectations low for the drama but even then it failed to hit those expectations. FILWM could have done so much better and it definitely had the potential to do so but sadly and disappointingly, it was not done so.

Fall in Love with Me

Click here to watch Fall in Love with Me.

[Credits: Pictures from https://www.facebook.com/isetFallinLoveWithMe]

Tagged: , , ,

13 thoughts on “My Opinion on Fall in Love with Me Episodes 14-20 (Final)

  1. heisui August 20, 2014 at 6:40 am Reply

    I’m surprised you even managed to finish the drama. Ep1 was enough for me to stop. T_T Obviously Aaron is the big attraction of the show, but it felt like he had no chemistry with Tia Li. (granted that’s my first impression) o_o”

    • misscupcakees August 20, 2014 at 9:04 am Reply

      lol I’m surprised to, but tbh, I was literally skip-watching the entire drama. Yeahh, Tia and Aaron never had any chemistry, which lied more so with Tia than it did with Aaron.

  2. Marie August 20, 2014 at 8:49 pm Reply

    Did you ever noticed that thru the episode 18-20…Aaron keeps twisting and playing with his married ring. I mean its like he doesnt really want it.

    • misscupcakees August 20, 2014 at 9:31 pm Reply

      I’ve never realised that! But he’s always shown it that he never wanted to be with Huan Huan so that’s probably what it is.

  3. erjin August 20, 2014 at 9:44 pm Reply

    HI

  4. erjin August 20, 2014 at 10:32 pm Reply

    I just finished watching the last episode of the FILWM, and now I’m looking for some reviews of the drama and I’m so happy that you wrote a precise and vivid critique for this drama that I myself also want to do so. Well, all I can say this drama is the most disappointing drama I’ve ever watched and this is also the first time that I’m going to post for a comment because I felt really frustrated with the outcome of this drama. Actually, I only watched this drama because of Aaron too, but I was also expecting a good drama to watch since the plot was really interesting at first and it’s a rom-com but after the revelation XL the entire drama was twisted and I don’t understand where the drama is heading to. And finally, it’s just ended with just like that. I think Aaron as an actor was grown indeed and I praise him with that. He was the only reason why I keep pushing myself to finish the drama that isn’t worth watching. The story line was too much immersed with evil plotting and I want to ask is this a love story? I don’t think so. The leading lady I guess was too depressing, she can’t act. She really annoys me from the beginning until the end. And, I don’t know why she has to cry and cry every time, it pissed me off no one is dying. Well, I wish that there is. And she’s the one, just kidding. Well, the drama was a tragic its keeps changing with no sense of direction. It doesn’t deserve a good rating at all. All, I wish was to see a happy and healthy love story of a couple not a psychotic, illogical story that has a happy ending. I wish to see Aaron with a better drama in the future. I think he deserves it well.By the way, thanks for your review…

    • misscupcakees August 21, 2014 at 9:05 pm Reply

      Hi! (:

      It’s definitely one of the most disappointing drama that I’ve seen. The thing was that I never held high expectations for it since it started off as being a drama to reunite Puff and Aaron. As such, it was already frail in its plot. However, what really let me down was the twisted plot change that made no sense whatsoever. Honestly, you could see that the drama was at a lost of how to proceed pretty early on. Not only that, but Aaron and Tia had no chemistry so that made the drama all the more boring. And she can’t act to save her life. All that I saw from her throughout the drama’s entire run was her one and only bland, emotionless face.

      Hehe, no worries! I’m glad you enjoyed reading it!

  5. rowanmdm August 21, 2014 at 12:34 am Reply

    Aaron was a big part of the reason I started watching this show, but I also really liked the idea of the male lead competing against himself for his lady love. Unfortunately the writers didn’t focus on that aspect of the story and instead changed the focus to the crazy Li family. I dropped the show around ep 10. While I did watch the finale I skipped huge chunks of it. One of the reasons I dropped the show was after LTX’s identity as XL was revealed everyone was acting like complete jerks. The only 2 characters I actually liked we’re LTX and Uncle Fu. Everyone else I either actively hated (TLS, why in &$&$!@ did he love you so much?) or felt blasé about them. I can handle some makjang if I like the characters, but this did not cut it.

    I found Hayate the Combat Butler recently and Tia was so much better in that. Still not amazing acting, but enough better that I wonder if her horrible acting in this was partially due to other factors. At least that show, while crazy, was also fun.

    • misscupcakees August 21, 2014 at 9:08 pm Reply

      Same here, like I said, if Aaron’s name wasn’t in the mix I would have never batted an eye. While I like the premise of Tian Xing competing against himself for Le Si’s love, I knew it was never going to work. What were they going to do after Xiao Lu’s identity revelation? The person who Le Si fell in love with was Xiao Lu and not Tian Xing.

      Yeahh, I just had no idea what was going on with the Li family. A bunch of crazy, crazy people.

  6. kat. August 22, 2014 at 12:04 am Reply

    Sounds like a horrible, horrible drama and it still rated over 2.5 for the finale? Aaron must have a really strong following.

    • misscupcakees August 22, 2014 at 12:15 am Reply

      It was horrible, horrible, horrible!

      Yuppp, I guess so, it was be the Aaron power! The ratings broke 2 during the last few eps despite how makjang the drama became.

  7. Yami Hyunnie August 22, 2014 at 11:14 pm Reply

    Reading through your review and I have to say, I completely agree with what you’ve said. What a mess that second half was. The main couple didn’t have any chemistry going on, and the Li family were just shockingly scary. I wonder what happened to the writing? It’s as if the writers just went “Well crap, we didn’t really have much planned after the reveal of Xiao Lu’s identity…who wants pizza?!” or something silly like that kkk

    But anyway, I’m proud of you that you managed to get through this drama (it was a battlefield girlfriend!) and I love your review; thank you. I’m planning mine right now, and it’s probably going to mention a lot of points that you’ve covered (hehe there really isn’t much more that can be said, right?) Lets hope that Aaron gets another project that is slighty better than this one (I’m praying!) See ya around, and good luck in your next drama review!

    • misscupcakees August 23, 2014 at 8:35 am Reply

      The lack of chemistry sucked big time. For a drama that sells on couplings, I felt nothing from Tian Xing and Le Si.

      Ahahaa, yepppp, a bunch of crazy people from the Li family. Is stay away from them, far far away.

      Crap writing was to blame for the illogical plot line. Right from the start I don’t think the writers even knew where or how they were to proceed with the premises. They could have developed it so much better, but they lead themselves into stagnant water when they decided that Tian Xing was going to infiltrate OZ and fall in love with Le Si as Xiao Lu.

      Hehe, thank you! I look forward to reading your one 🙂

Make my day? Post a comment :)

