Lorene Ren and Kingone Wang Drop Gorgeous, Breath-Taking Stills for Someone Like You

Someone Like YouMerry Christmas my beautiful readers! I hope you are all enjoying this festive season!

Sunday night drama Say Yes I Do Again (AKA I Do) will be ending in a few weeks and that means a new drama is getting ready to take over the spot. SETTV Sunday night dramas have been quite a dud in recent years, particularly after Miss RoseKing Flower (AKA Substitute Princess OR Replacement Princess OR The Adventure Of King Flower) was a relative success but the drama went through some major changes during its run. Love Around was just plain boring and I actually sat around recapping it. Déjà Vu and Fall in Love with Me were both trainwreck makjang crazies and just kills brain cells. The currently airing SYIDA is draggy, tedious and falls into the boring category. None of these five dramas have managed to excite me but the upcoming drama Someone Like You (Chinese literal title: Hearing Happiness) is visually appealing! The drama itself might stink and truthfully, I am just going to close my eyes and hope for the best for this drama. At least the visuals are pleasing to look at.

Someone Like You will be heading down the melo path along the lines of something like Déjà Vu. It is basically a mash-up between King Flower and Bride of the Century mixed in with elements of That Winter, The Wind Blows with Kingone Wang playing a chaebol heir who loses both his sight and fiancée played by Lorene Ren after suffering an unfortunate accident while they were taking their wedding pictures. Two years later he meets a woman who has the exact voice (and face) as his former fiancée. She also happens to have a background in nursing which leads her to get hired as his personal nurse. Of course this leads to them falling in love.

I’ve seen a few of Kingone’s dramas and it was only in recent years that he started getting lead roles. This year, he hopped over to SETTV and landed himself a leading role in the daily Tie the Knot and now a leading role in a primetime drama. He has mainly played second lead roles and always missing on getting the girl so it will be a nice to see him finally get the girl. He is a very good actor, standing out even when he was playing second leads but playing a blind man will be a challenge for him, one that I am sure he can handle.

I have nothing against dramas about the same person falling in love with doppelgangers but thank goodness it only happens in dramas because how weird would that be in real life? Lorene is still a relatively new actress but she did a fantastic job in In A Good WayI guess it’s good that she passed up on the current Friday night drama Aim High which apparently is a doozy because this brought to life a fresh pairing with Kingone which would have never crossed my mind! I’m not sure how her chemistry with Kingone will translate on-screen but I am their chemistry in the stills. And speaking of stills, these must be some of the prettiest stills that I have seen in a while. They are just amazingly pretty. I luuuuurrrrrrvvvvveeee the colour scheme, with its smoky sea green colour that offers a warm winter coupled with warm fashion. I especially love the cinematographic shots; they’re just soooo soooo sooo pretty to look at and the bokeh effects are just spot on! Love, love, love it!

Someone Like You Someone Like You Someone Like You Someone Like You Someone Like You

Oh, so apparently it’s Lorene Ren and not Kristen Ren. Time to go edit some posts. And also Bii will be singing some songs for the drama. I’ll link them below. (:

Bii’s “I’m Still Missing You” (Someone Like You Opening Theme Song):

Bii’s “Baby Don’t” (Someone Like You Insert Song):

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lorene Ren and Kingone Wang Drop Gorgeous, Breath-Taking Stills for Someone Like You

  1. joy (@akikisetsu) December 26, 2014 at 4:37 pm Reply

    I really hope this drama of Rong Rong and Kingone hits it big. The stills are really setting the tone, mood and vibe of the drama and I like what I’m seeing. And from what I’ve read, Kingone seems to be a very good actor (I haven’t seen him in anything). I’ll admit that I really have a soft spot for Rong Rong ever since her IAGW days (love her and Lego, but more with RR…idk). I know she’s still a relatively new actress and still rough with emotional scenes, with just a few drama under her belt. But I like her screen presence, energy she brings to the character, and as shown on IAGW bts, her willingness/openness to improve on her craft by being paired with more experienced actors. And pairing her with Kingone, I think would really work for her. I hope some sites or group would sub this!!!! Please continue to write more about the drama? Thanks! 🙂

    • misscupcakees December 27, 2014 at 9:29 am Reply

      Ahahaha, but it’s going to be one crazy drama!

      The stills are just perfect! I love it!

      Lorene is a relatively new actress but she is making a great start and she will definitely improve with time. I, too, really like her on-screen presence. It’s not something that all actors possess but Lorene does and that will definitely do her wonders.

Make my day? Post a comment :)

