My Opinion on We Got Married Global Edition Season 1 Episode 9

So I have exams coming up this week and I somehow managed to find the time to cram in an ep of WGM. Ahahahas, I just had to, there was a desire within me that pushed for me to watch this ep! I just knew that I wouldn’t be able to fully concentrate on studying without catching up with the latest ep! I just had to see it, especially after the romantic proposal in the last ep. I had to see to the end of their wedding ceremony and honeymoon! Okay, I can study now. So if I go MIA for a while, it’s because I am studying. 0:)

Where last ep was playful, this ep was sweet. It was immensely toned down here and more down-to-earth. It really showed the journey that they two have went on. They were at first strangers to each other but now they are close friends who share a chemistry which I never knew could have existed. I absolutely love watching them grow, it feels like I am the fairy-god-mother here, helping them to grow their relationship, except then I realise that I am no fairy-god-mother. 

The wedding ceremony was beautiful but not what I expected. I thought that it would have been more lively but then as I watched them walk down the aisle together, I realised that that type of wedding would not suit them. This short and sweet ceremony worked for them perfectly. They needed no guests, just having them two together was enough. I liked that Taecyeon took it on himself to organise the ceremony basing on what she wanted. He really put a lot of thought into it, considering what she wanted out of this. It was quite a beautiful scene and contained their real emotions. I’m glad that they didn’t walk into it shocked and romantic, I actually liked that they added some humour to it to firstly create a bubbly atmosphere and to mark it as something that is unique to them.

I loved how Taecyeon lead the ceremony, making Gui Gui comfortable being herself. Their vows was very short and very simple but that didn’t matter because they really meant what they said. It came from their hearts and the experiences that they have encountered together. You could really feel the emotions they were going through as they said their vows.

It was really sweet to see them gather their feelings together in the cave after their wedding. They were writing down their thoughts of their wedding on the cardboard heart; Taecyeon wrote his in English while Gui Gui wrote hers in Chinese. He goes to read it but of course he reads it incorrectly so she goes to correct him and just rambles off in Chinese. That was so adorable because she suddenly had a realisation that she was speaking in Chinese. It is equally adorable to see Taecyeon confused with what is going on. Nonetheless, apart from this communication does not appear to be a problem for them.

On of the things that really helps to bridge the two together is their “rock, scissors, paper” game. This is part of their way of communication and also something which helps to glue them together. Without this element, they would not have been as interesting to watch. This only works for them because it helps them to communicate. They take the game very seriously, because losing comes with big consequences! I just love watching their reactions as they win or lose. Those faces are something which you can never find elsewhere. I laughed harder seeing Taecyeon’s face when he lost the game than when Gui Gui put lipstick on him!

Interestingly, the more that I watch them together, the more their language barrier is something being pushed to the back of my mind. They definitely have their verbal communication hindrance but as the saying goes “action speaks louder than words”. And that is working in favour for them, because they are learning to understand each other from the bottom of their hearts. They are really putting in a lot of effort in getting to know each other, and you can see that with they way their relationship has transitioned since the start. They have reached a point in their relationship where language plays a very minuscule role to their relationship. Their new language is not verbal but taken with action.

I can’t believe that this is the end of their marriage/honeymoon already! It is just so soon and I felt that this was when I really got to see them show their feelings to each other. I’m just glad that it ended on a high note with them confirming their feelings. Their date at the aquarium really proved so. They are changing for each other. Taecyeon is not too fond of animals but because of her enthusiasm, he tried to get close to the seal for her. They also had a heart-to-heart talk which I liked seeing because it shows that they are cherishing the memories that they are making together as well as verbally communicating their feelings to each other. Last ep, I had no idea what he meant by the whole eraser growing small talk but he said something spot on this ep – marriage is about finding out about each other and moulding into one. This is something that the two have worked well towards.

I absolutely loved watching the progress they have made since the start. I have witnessed them being two strangers with each other, friends who didn’t really know how to communicate with each other, friends who were merely just friends and finally having a sweet relationship where they are sizzling with chemistry. This isn’t a drama but if it was I’d be shipping them and screaming for them to end up together. However, this isn’t going to happen here but I really hope that at the end of this they will have a strong friendship that will last.

With this ep I just skimmed through Mina and Hong Ki‘s part because, uhhhh, I should be studying. Ahahahhas. I’ll study after getting this up! I didn’t get the full gist of their segment but of what I saw, they are growing closer and closer with the more time they spend with each other. They are so comfortable with each other that it feels like they are long time best friends! Their skinship just comes so naturally and without awkwardness!

It’s amusing to note that with both weddings/honeymoons there was a getaway as well as the presence of a beach. Ahahha, just an interesting note! Now that the honeymoon is over, I am excited for the next mission. I am hoping that it will be something more marriage-life based, because I really want to see the couples in one of those scenarios. Okay, adios! I’m going to do some studying! Hopefully I’ll be back in time for the next ep! (:

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “My Opinion on We Got Married Global Edition Season 1 Episode 9

  1. heisui June 3, 2013 at 5:25 am Reply

    I thought it was so cute when Gui Gui said her wedding vows!!!! Her stumbling over the words just made the moment even sweeter! I also loved Gui Gui’s wedding dress. I kinda wish she could’ve thrown her bouquet though!

    • misscupcakees June 4, 2013 at 12:05 pm Reply

      Isn’t it just? You could tell she wanted to say more but she just couldn’t find the words for it!

      Yeahh, but then there’d be no one to catch it… I found her very pretty at the ceremony and afterwards. She looks even more adorably cute with her fishtail braid

  2. angelangie June 4, 2013 at 10:59 am Reply

    i love the whole thing…the bts the show itself….as you had said they really came a long way….from stranger to friend and to best friend…& now towards where they are in the comfortable zone together…Taec had drop his guard around Gui Gui to be sure…and then language is no longer the barrier between them…one by one all the hurdle had been jump over and done with…honestly i really hope that this two being do not stop contacting each other even after the show itself….really do hope even though they do not go out for real they at least do have a friendship going on 🙂

    • misscupcakees June 4, 2013 at 12:37 pm Reply

      Me too! I really hope that the friendship will last. It would be good to see them together on another collaboration (:

  3. Roxette June 4, 2013 at 12:37 pm Reply

    Awwww…I really like that fact that Taec s getting more touchy feely. When Gui Gui suggested to close their eyes and smile for the photo…Taec wanted to hug her (amidst the crew squeals of approval) but GG kinda pulled apart..why GG??!?! And that there’s the part where Taec and GG was posing funny stance on the stone…he wanted to put his hands over her shoulder and she was walking away, not realizing Taec’s intention..resulting in the latter having to pretend swiping something from his hair or face….awwww..what a shame…LOL !

    • misscupcakees June 4, 2013 at 1:05 pm Reply

      Ahahahahas, I guess it’s because they’re still getting to know each other! I’m just happy with the progress that they have made! (:

      • Roxette June 4, 2013 at 5:18 pm

        I am getting greedy and wanting more, eg kisses be it on cheeks or forehead…hahaha!! AND how come there was no hugs after having pronounced man and wife?? I thought I saw some hugging photos during the wedding somewhere? O_o

Make my day? Post a comment :)

